The Maze Runner makes great read

November 16, 2016

“Nice to meet ya, shank,” the boy said. “ Welcome to the Glade.”

The Maze Runner series consists of five books by author James Dashner. This series is a personal favorite series to read, and the first two books, The Maze Runner and The Scorch Trials have become major motion pictures.

The original book that started it all, The Maze Runner, got published Oct. 24, 2010. The book is 400 pages long and the age recommendation consists of teens anywhere from 12 to 17 years old. The story starts with suspicion as the character’s name is not mentioned, the setting is not announced and there is no background information. Dashner uses precise detail and imagery to really pull the reader into the story.

As readers find out in the first two chapters, a boy named Thomas is sent to this eerie place called the Glade through a metal box.  He is surrounded by teenage boys and can’t remember anything other than his name.  The boys tell him there is no way out of the Glade other than through the maze. The tall, dark maze surrounds the Glade and terrifies everyone who lives there. Scary creatures live in the maze, and there is no way around them. Thomas is determined to get out, but many dangers lie ahead of him in this award winning story.

There are four other stories in this series. After The Maze Runner is The Scorch Trials, The Death Cure, The Kill Order, and Dashner’s new book, The Fever Code. In order to understand the other books, readers  have to read The Maze Runner first. Buy the whole series at Barnes & Noble and the first two movies can be purchased at Walmart or Target.

Like The Hunger Games or Divergent ? If so, read The Maze Runner!

Leave a Comment

Livewire • Copyright 2023 • FLEX WordPress Theme by SNOLog in

Comments (0)

All Livewire Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *