Journalism Education Association recognizes seven Livewire staff members


Wanda Vanish

Aurora Soural, Lydia Newman, Jolee Smith, Cameron Havens, Paige Glasgow, Mckenzie Quirin and Julia Pitts display certificates recognizing their ratings for the National Media Contest. (pictured from left to right)

Livewire staff members participated in the 2017 Journalism Education Association (JEA) National Media Contest. Students chose work to submit to the contest by April 19. JEA judges then rated the entries and returned certificates to the contestants in May. The ratings available are Superior, Excellent, and Honorable Mention.

Below are the students’ ratings they received:
Cameron Havens – Excellent – News/Feature Writing
Mckenzie Quirin – Excellent – News/Feature Writing
Julia Pitts – Excellent – News/Feature Writing
Lydia Newman – Honorable Mention – News/Feature Writing
Aurora Soural entry 1– Excellent – Other Writing (Critical Review, Editorial, Column)
Aurora Soural entry 2 – Excellent – Other Writing (Critical Review, Editorial, Column)